Town voters to choose one of three for mayor, cast ballots for councilmen on Monday, April 17

by Geoff Fox & Kate Shunney

Hancock residents who are registered to vote will choose from three candidates for mayor and two candidates for Hancock council on Monday, April 17 during the town’s municipal election.

Tim Smith

Voting booths open at 11 a.m. at Town Hall and remain open until 7 p.m.

Mayor Tim Smith is running for reelection and is opposed by Councilman Roland Lanehart Jr. and resident Preston Hall.

Hancock’ s mayors are elected for two-year terms. Smith, a longtime councilman, is serving out his first term as mayor.

Lanehart’s first term as councilman is running out as well. Instead of seeking reelection to his council seat, Lanehart sets his sights on the mayor’s chair in this election.

Roland Lanehart, Jr.

Preston Hall has been a perennial mayor candidate for the last few elections.

Councilman Josh McCusker is seeking his first elected term on Hancock council in this election. McCusker was appointed to his seat in 2021.

Resident Richard Strong is vying for one of two open council seats.

McCusker and Strong are unopposed in their election bids.

After polls are closed at 7 p.m. on Monday night, Hancock election board members will count ballots to determine winners in each race.

Preston Hall

According to county voting records, there are 1,079 voters in Hancock.

See page 3 for more about the candidates.